Will it sell?

I admit that I love watching Will it blend? This is one of the most brilliant marketing campaigns I have seen. Tom Dickson, the founder of BlendTec, shows the power of their blenders by shredding durable items — golf balls, hockey pucks, even an iPod and an iPhone! The videos are cute and campy, and Tom does a great job at keeping a straight face during the demos.

More importantly, these videos have created amazing publicity for BlendTec. Of course, “Will it blend?” has become the catchphrase of the tech industry. But when I heard a “Will it blend” story on NPR, I knew it had gone mainstream.

The demos are very impressive. I sold my old blender because I didn’t use it. But if I wanted a new blender, I know where I’d go to buy one.

Explore posts in the same categories: Business

Leave a Reply

