Rebate roulette

I was incensed this week when I received a postcard that a rebate was denied. I forgot my own advice: better to find a low price without rebates than to go through the hassle of trying to redeem a rebate.

I remember another recent case where the instructions had a blatant error. A $100 disk drive had a $30 and a $20 rebate offer. Each rebate offer was supposed to be mailed to separate post office boxes at the same address. The problem was that both offers required you to send the original UPC code. There is no way you can comply with these instructions! I wound up sending them together in the same envelope. Who knows if I’ll get nothing, $20, $30, or $50.

As always, if the offer sounds too good to be true, it probably is.

Update: As of March 22, I received the $30 rebate for the disk drive. I’m doubtful about the $20 rebate.

Explore posts in the same categories: Business, Tech

Leave a Reply

