No excuse for anger

Today I was the target of a violent, angry tirade by a fellow employee. I acknowledged my mistake and took immediate action to fix it. But the person screaming at me through the telephone was not appeased. Twelve hours later I am still shaken by the furor and threats. It was one of the most ugly and unprofessional things I have seen in my work life.

Sadly, this isn’t the first time I have seen uncivil behavior in the workplace. It is OK to disagree as we all strive to do the best for the corporation and its investors. But there is a clear boundary between debate and irate, and I have seen this boundary crossed too often lately.

Every incident like this makes me one step closer to leaving.

Explore posts in the same categories: General

Leave a Reply

