¢ wise, £ foolish

Ugh. I am waiting for approval to book my next business trip to Europe, and I receive the following email from the admin to the COO: “This itinerary looked quite expensive. Could you please look at the options that [the corporate travel agent] has just proposed?” No, I really wanted these flights as they would have allowed me to spend more time at home and reduce the time spent traveling. Nevermind that it also reduces hotel and meal expenses.

How much time do employees waste hunting for good flights, only to have some power-mad secretary block the purchase since it is $100 more than the cheapest flight? Who cares that the cheaper flight connects through Elbonia at 2am?

The day that I run a company, the travel policy will automatically approve any request that is close to the cheapest itinerary. This gives flexibility to the employee while keeping expenses in line. Why waste precious employee time and added per diem expenses just to save $150 on airfare?

Memo to the admin: thanks to your delays, my preferred flights are now completely booked, so now I will totally lose my labor day weekend with my family.

Explore posts in the same categories: General

Leave a Reply

