Why Microsoft products are insecure

When I lived in Atlanta, I used to listen to the Neal Boortz show on the radio. As a libertarian, Neal reminds listeners that one cannot have both freedom and security.

The same principle holds in computers. Today, personal computers are setup with all systems enabled by default. This shows the power of the systems, gives freedom to the users, and reduces the need for technical support. But it also exposes many elements that are potential security risks.

Case in point: today I purchased a WiFi adaptor and router. By default, the router was setup to enable anyone to use the wireless connection. The first thing I did was to enable WEP protection. When I installed the client adaptor in my computer, I then saw seven networks in my neighborhood. Two had WEP protection, including mine, leaving five that are completely open to anyone! I tested it, and I was actually able to surf the web at my neighbors’ expense! I’m sure it is a case of ignorance and not generosity, as I bet I could find some shared drives, if I wanted.

Of course, the opposite default behavior isn’t attractive, either: have you ever used a corporate computer where you need to ask permission to do simple things like printing or accessing shared directories?

Caveat user.

Explore posts in the same categories: General

Leave a Reply

