End of unlimited broadband?

I know that this has been written before, but I’m a bit nervous when I read on Om Malik that another ISP is trying to put monthly bandwidth caps on their users. Part of the attraction of the internet is that no one asks how much you are using. On the other hand, I do appreciate that a small number of customers with a huge appetite for bandwidth are increasing the costs for everyone.

Here’s an idea: offer lower cost broadband with bandwidth caps, plus a premium tier with better bandwidth and no limits.

Meantime, I’m wondering whether bandwidth caps will affect how people use the internet. How many bandwidth hungry applications do I rely on? Downloading software patches, audio podcasts, video podcasts, Skype. What would change if I worried about the cost to do each of these?

Explore posts in the same categories: Tech

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

